New Ostomate Seeking Advice for Appliance Leaks and Skin Irritation

Replies
Views
New57

Hi, my name is Eric and I am brand new to this world. I surrendered my colon after a 20-year battle with UC. A J-pouch was formed, but a temporary ostomy had to be put in place.

This ostomy is the hardest thing I have done in my life. My wife and I have suffered with appliance leaks and changes all week long while my stoma is active. My skin is raw and everything hurts.

I know that this will get better, but any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Axl

Hello Eric

Yes, it will get better.

I have had 4 different stomas now, and I have always had trouble in the first one to two weeks until I get a handle on the different shape and size of each of them.

Don't mess around, get straight in to see the stoma nurse where you will find numerous options for your difficulties.

Having said that, the first week or two can be difficult as the stoma needs time to heal before using barrier rings or convex bags so as not to put too much pressure on the healing wound around the stoma.

Make an appointment now.

Regards

Axl

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,503 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member

Hi Eric and welcome.

You will find a lot of supportive kind people here, and many have been where you are now. I know I have.

Do you have a one-piece bag or two-piece? Is around your stoma flat or sunken? There are many factors to how to make your bag stick.