Managing an ileostomy on a boat?

Replies
Views
outdoorhappy

Though I have had an ileostomy for over thirty years, I am new to this venue. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to manage emptying your pouch while out in a boat, probably far from shore? Sorry if this has been covered ad nauseam, but like I mentioned, I am a newbie on this site. Thanking in advance, dd

w30bob

Hi outdoorhappy,

Ya know...........I've wondered the same thing. Obviously not a problem if it's your boat.......or if it's just you and your partner........but what to do if there are other people onboard. The "man overboard" thing; where you empty; your bag when in the water will get old fast. I assume you're talking about being on a small boat (that doesn't have a head (bathroom)) with other strangers. If you chew tobacco I guess you could use your spit bottle as a urinal.........but who chews anymore? I'm guessing the only way around this is either use a 2-piece barrier/bag and swap bags when full (assuming you can find a place to do this unseen). Then put the full bag in a well-sealed ZipLock bag or such in your napsack, or whatever you carry on. If your output is really liquidy that may be a bit tough to pull off. I'm interested to hear what others have to say about this one, as I've avoided going on small boats without a bathroom since I got my ostomy for this very reason.

Regards,

Bob

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,486 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

ron in mich