Why choose non-moldable flange?

Replies
Views
goddi11891

Greetings,

I am new to this and am using the ConvaTec 'moldable' flange (2-piece). 'Moldable' seems the easiest and safest type of flange. You don't have to cut the opening and the moldable stuff can be pushed up tight to your stoma. I have not tried the cut-to-fit yet. So I am wondering why would anyone not use the 'moldable' type. Just wondering what I am missing.

Thanks...

Gary

w30bob

Hi Gary,

Well... a couple of reasons. From what I've heard (I haven't tried the Convatec moldable)... the moldable doesn't last as long as a cut-to-fit and a barrier ring. Also, the Convatec is rather thick in the non-bandage portion, which makes the barrier stick out further from your skin... making it more noticeable under your shirt. It's all about personal preference and using what you're comfortable with... and I tend to follow the "if it ain't broke... don't fix it" mindset. But it is interesting, and if it works for you... stick with it!

Regards,

Bob

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,503 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

warrior

True that from Bob. Also, a cut to fit means... well.. some stomas aren't round so you may need to cut it oval like.. it gets out of round over the years. I used that same setup you are using, Gary. It was ok for a while but the leaks were impossible to solve. I switched to the Mio Sensura Flip and leakage problem solved. It is a smart wafer. Really hugs the area much better as an appliance. I still use a barrier ring.

Welcome! Warrior