Seeking advice on ileostomy reversal and pregnancy after major surgery

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses experiences and advice on ileostomy reversal and pregnancy after major surgery.
LeanneP
Hi everyone! I am new to this kind of thing!

So I had my operation last August due to severe ulcerative colitis. I wasn't suffering for very long and the fact that I had a major operation very quickly was a bit of a shock! I had to have a subtotal colectomy and an ileostomy. So far, everything is going okay luckily enough! I have a choice of getting the ileostomy reversed later this year. The surgeon did mention to me that it was a more difficult operation and there are complications that can happen. Plus, the fact that I haven't got much of a colon left doesn't help either! I was wondering if someone could share their experience with me so I can decide for myself whether or not I will have the second operation. Also, I was wondering, I know you can still get pregnant with an ileostomy - is there anything that can go wrong or is it just the same as everyone else? And how long do you have to wait after having a major operation? I will be seeing my surgeon again in March but would like to hear real people's opinions.

Like I said before, I haven't had any problems with my stoma, no blockages - changing the bag doesn't bother me (anymore!) I have been avoiding one of my favorite foods - popcorn. I'm not sure if I should chance it! If anyone knows if it's totally unsafe, could you let me know!

Thanks!
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,091 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.