Advice on Ostomy Reversal Prep?

Replies
Views
Patrice

Hi everyone. I have been reading your posts since I had an emergency sigmoid colostomy performed on Oct 6. This is my first time posting. My reversal is scheduled for Monday Jan 30th and my doctor has prescribed a bowel prep called Moviprep. I took half the prescribed amount prior to my first surgery as I have a very sensitive colon. However, my doctor is recommending the full 2-course prep this time and I am worried. I would appreciate any advice regarding the prep and what it's like to cleanse the bowel with an ostomy. Thanks so much!

TotallySurprised

I know it may seem excessive, however, really cleansing is a huge deal in abdominal surgery as I am sure you are aware.

I had my reversal nearly 2 weeks ago, so far so good! I just sat in a chair with a bucket and my pouch drained directly into the bucket. The prep cleaned me out in a couple of hours and then I showered and went to bed.

Good luck and best wishes for a very speedy recovery!

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,358 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Patrice

Thanks totally. I was totally surprised too as I had never had any GI issues in my 61 years. This hit me hard (diverticular abscess that didn't respond to draining and antibiotics). No history. Anyway, I am excited and hope my outcome is as good as yours. On the day before the surgery, did you have to go on a clear liquid diet? My doctor didn't say anything about that and I don't know if I should eat or not.

TotallySurprised