Concerns about Huge Parastomal Hernia and Reversal Success

Replies
Views
bluebelgirl

A melon-sized hernia appeared overnight. It is uncomfortable, but I'm worried about a few things.
I want to have a Hartmans reversal in 12 months, and I'm worried if it will affect the reversal. They want to do the op at the time of reversal, but if it gets any bigger and if they have to operate sooner, will that reduce the chance of success?

Also, I'm worried about bowel strangulation as I already live with PTSD from almost dying from bowel perforation. My fear is escalated with the arrival of the hernia.

Lastly, it's so visible, and I feel like such a freak with a huge one-sided hump. Does anyone else feel self-conscious, and how large are your hernias?
Peace, bluebel

rn3842

I have a parastomal hernia, which is the size of a melon, on my left side. I have had it for about 5 years now and have experienced some complications, such as blockages, etc. I have undergone 6 surgeries in an attempt to repair a rectovaginal fistula that I have. The most recent surgery, which involved using a muscle flap, was performed on January 11 of this year. Hopefully, this surgery will be successful so that I can have my reversal soon. My doctors also plan to perform the hernia repair along with the reversal at the same time. I would appreciate it if you could keep me updated on what you find out or how you fare with your surgery. I have also wondered about everything you are!
I understand how you feel about being self-conscious about the hernia; I feel the same way. I just have to wear clothes that cover it, which is not very attractive! Take care of yourself, and I hope everything works out great for you.
Tracy

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,480 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.