Managing Medications Post-Reversal: Driving Safety and Diet Tips?

Replies
Views
GreyBeard57

Had colon and gallbladder removed March 25th, 2014. Nervous like so many others about life after reversal. My surgeon tells me that I can "manage" bowel movements with an anti-diarrheal med. He says I will be on this for the rest of life as well as the sulfasalazine I'm taking now to prevent recurrence of the ulcerative ileo-colitis that afflicted me. I drive a truck for a living, so the bag actually isn't too bad convenience-wise. No urgent need to get to a rest area. I was wondering about the anti-diarrheal meds and if they restrict ability to safely drive. Still learning about diet. Should I give up coffee altogether? Can one control bowel movements without meds? Thanks mates!

Past Member

Hi.

The anti-diarrheal meds seem to work for me, and I control my diet fairly well with the times and things I eat. I do a lot of driving too. It's worked for me so far.

Sam

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,370 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Snookis Mum

Why are you even considering reversal? I was told that I would have five or more loose bowel movements per day for the rest of my life, and would have to watch what I eat forever. I am so much happier with the safety of the pouch. There will always be a risk that you will have diarrhea while you are driving your truck, and the anti-diarrhea meds don't always work at all.