Seeking Advice on Finding Companionship at 60+

In this discussion
Replies
Views
megalyman

This may be a little long so bear with me. I am a 60-year-old male and will be 61 this year. I have a master's degree (not that it matters) and had a professional career. I had my ileostomy in 2007. The surgery went way bad, and I spent 3 months in the hospital. The surgeon really messed up and cut the nerves to my pelvic area, so now I have to use a catheter to urinate and can no longer get an erection even though my mind wants to. I also have Hepatitis C, which is inactive but technically still there. I was divorced several years ago and moved to a place just north of Dallas where I don't know anybody. I have relatives who live close to me, so I can do things with them, but they have their own lives, and I don't want to just hang with them. I have been married 4 times. I divorced twice and was divorced twice, so I guess that makes me even. I would like to find friends, both male and female. I would like to have a female live with me. Of course, the sex thing is something that can be gotten around by other means. I know everybody says hang in there, be patient, things will be alright. The thing is, I am not good at being single. Since I got out of the Navy in 1979, I have probably not been without female companionship for more than 3 months (until now). Some lasted a day, and some lasted over 10 years. I'm sure you get the point. I am financially independent and don't need somebody to pay my way, and I really don't want to pay someone else's way. Things don't have to be equal, but some contribution needs to be there. I believe in the teachings of Jesus but have not been to church in decades. I could start again, but I don't feel right going just to meet a mate. I like to do lots of things, don't smoke or overdrink. Due to a recent hospital stay for dehydration and a UTI, I am down a few pounds, but that will come back with time. Trust me, if you eat right, it's hard to put o