Dancing with an Ostomy: Tips for Confidence!

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic provides tips and advice for building confidence while dancing with an ostomy.
sunny13

Hello,

I'm a 20-year-old college student. Several times my friends have invited me to go dancing either at parties or country dance halls on college night. I've never gone with them, mostly because of my ostomy. My bag is not always flat, especially when it has output (which is nearly always). I'd like to be able to dance with a guy, which usually involves touching, at least around the waist. What if they feel the pouch? There's obviously something there. I hate the fact that I fear being touched, but that's how it is these days. Anyone here have experience going dancing in a crowded place? What do you say? Or is this whole dancing experience just something that I have to accept that I can't do?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,086 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

robshawks

Hi Sunny,

I've had my ostomy for a little over a year. At first, I was very concerned about others, but now I feel much more comfortable. I can swim, dance, workout, referee high school sports, and lead a very active life, traveling extensively for both work and fun.

I don't go out of my way to tell people about my ostomy, but have found most people find it interesting and are comfortable asking questions and talking about it.

Be confident in yourself and that confidence will result in a very positive effect on those around you. Let me know how you are doing :)

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
NJ Bain

Sunny,