Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Dating 20,349 members

32% chance something will go wrong?

Posted by ChuckL, on Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:39 pm

As some of you know from my last post, my doctor is wanting me to get a urostomy and colostomy. Someone told me that there is a 32% chance that something could go wrong. I'm not a doctor, but that seems really high to me? Is it high or am I exaggerating? Has anyone on here had their surgery go wrong/not get the outcome they wanted?

Reply by Bill, on Fri Sep 06, 2019 1:49 am

Hello ChuckL.

There is an apt quotation from Mark Twain which goes: "There are three kinds of lies - lies, damned lies and statistics". My own favourite retort is much the same but short: "DAMNED STATISTICS".
32% is a relatively meaningless figure unless it is accompanied by an explanation of precisely what it relates to. There have been many posts on here which act as a caution about choosing your surgeon wisely. I suspect that some surgeons have a percentage of cases that go wrong in some way which will be far higher than others. A general figure of 32% will average out the good and the bad. There are of course, many reasons why things can go wrong during surgery, just as there can be things going wrong before and after.
In my own case, I had successful surgery twice for haemorrhoids and was quite confident and happy to submit myself for the same procedure again. This confidence proved to be completely misplaced in the third surgeon who was utterly incompetent and what I would call a ‘butcher’. He obviously did not have a clue as to what was needed. I ended up at death’s door and needing further emergency operations to try to rectify what had been done. A whole series of operations after that led me to where I am today.