Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Relationships 21,252 members

Peristomal hernia

Talk to people who understand you Sign up today - for many, our community has been a life-changing experience.
Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:23 pm
what are the signs
Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:31 pm
I had a protuding (buldging) spot near the stoma.  The spot was very hard.  It was repaired with a mesh in my abdomen.  At times I feel a tugging where the mesh was placed.  This is usually if I have gained a few pounds.  Symptoms go away if I lose those extra pounds.
Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:47 pm
did the hernia stick out around the stoma .did you have pains through your stomach on both sides. where did you have the mesh surgery done just as i am a auto tech who has to lift more than say 50#s aday
Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:10 pm
No it did not hurt, it just buldged around the stoma and was noticeable under my clothes that I had to wear in the office.  I had the mesh surgery done in Grand Rapids by my ostomy surgeon.
Nurse
Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:29 pm
Hi m-fran21

Hernias around the stoma usually begin as a small lump or bulge around the stoma.  The bulge can be over, under, to the side or beneath the stoma.  They are usually  not painful when they begin.   The bulge often reduces or disappears on relcining or pressure over the area, only to reappear on sitting or standing.

I suggest seeing your surgeon check it out.  If it is a forever stoma, your surgeon may want to consider surgical repair.

Heavy lifting places a burden on the surgical opening for the stoma and higher potential to herniate.  Please talk this over with your surgeon also.  Though repair is possible, continued strain can re-herniate the area even with mesh used or relocation of the stoma  to a new site.   Sometimes job changes to avoid lifting and strain are necessary to consider if the stoma is permanent

Let us know the outcome.

Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:47 pm