Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates 20,240 members

ChrisP
member

About
Hi, I'm Chris – from the UK, but now living with my OH in a quirky old cottage in France: some people might think of us as quirky and old as well....

We love gardening, and I like collecting plants: I have many different kinds of maple and a few dwarf oak trees, together with about 130 different types of daffodils. Indoors we both enjoy antique china, especially jugs: my favourites are Royal Worcester, and pink lustre-ware. We also have an alarming number of old clocks around the place! Oh, and some taxidermy as well, including a stag's head inherited from my grandfather, who farmed in Alberta, Canada.

I've had a stoma since 2003, when colon cancer led to emergency surgery then six months of chemo ('fortunately we don't think hair loss will a problem in your case' said the oncologist!). I also have ulcerative colitis, but treatment is keeping this under control at the moment. The healthcare here is incredible!

I'm kept going by my maverick sense of humour, a 'junk shop mind' full of useless information, and my Christian faith. I guess some might label me an 'English eccentric', but I could disagree with one of those words at least: ask me which! Oh, by the way, my personality type is INTP.

I'm happy to chat with anybody about almost anything (don't get me started on 'Brexit' though: I am a long-term British resident in France, though my plans are open longer term when I find myself on my own, as seems likely). I have conversations running with all sorts of interesting people: my life is not defined by my illness.

Thank you for reading this!
Other Members
f, 59
Bonjour, J'aimerais bien échanger avec d'autres personnes qui pratique l'irrigation...
Quebec, Canada
f, 59
I am on here to gain information, friends, and to talk with those that are going through ...
Florida, United States
f, 62
Hi there, I am a Christian women looking for a friend who is in the same situation as I a...
Indiana, United States
f, 61
Just friendship and support. Christian values, love seeing the world and spending time wi...
Georgia, United States
f, 60
I don't know anyone with an illeostomy, and want to meet people the same as me, and I wan...
Ontario, Canada
Currently online: 10    
1 members & 9 visitors
w30bob (m)