Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates 20,226 members

spinbot
member

About
Living with an ileostomy as a result of Crohn's disease. I was diagnosed at age 14 and got my ostomy in my mid-30's. I wished I never had to get my ostomy, but my quality of life was terrible prior. I had my large bowel removed multiple years before my permanent ostomy and often I had a terrible time with frequency of needing a washroom (up to 30 times a day). It became hard to have any life as my mind was always thinking about going to the bathroom. I couldn't travel on the main highways as there wouldn't be enough time to get to the bathroom. I could only shop at certain stores, where I had easy access to the washroom. I hated going to the nightclubs as the stalls in the male washrooms were disgusting and some didn't even have doors or doors that could be locked. So.... after years of trying to endure things, I finally gave up after exhausting all pharmaceutical treatments, liquid diet, drug trails and probiotics. The ostomy has at least made my life better with no concerns about going out anymore, but it has knocked my self-image down multiple notches. I never grew up with much confidence as I was sick since I was 12, so the ostomy just made meeting woman harder. Things did get easier, as I got older and with internet dating. I've only come across one woman who had issues with my medical history, but I found that out fast enough.

Life now, as a single guy in his 40's with no kids, is pretty uneventful. I have to accept that my life isn't going to be filled with outdoor adventures, athletic triumphs or long walks on the beach. I'm okay with that. I'd just like someone to share my time with for simpler things like watching a movie, going out to diner, visiting with family, etc.

Feel free to message me / email me if you are looking to chat.

That's all for now! :)
Other Members
f, 42
Hello there, I'm on here looking to see about making friends with an ostomy and most i...
Maryland, United States
f, 49
Happily married mom of three beautiful children, two of our children are adults and one is...
Virginia, United States
f, 44
I am 38 y.o. I have survived Crohn's disease for almost 14 years. Basically, my ileostomy...
Alabama, United States
f, 42
I work full time I enjoy reading, meditating, exercise, traveling (cruising), movies, comp...
Washington, United States
f, 50
Just got my ileostomy and trying to have some type of normality and looking for someone t...
Missouri, United States
Currently online: 29    
12 members & 17 visitors
dina (f)
Jabid (m)
Sun (f)
w30bob (m)