Irrigation Troubles: Need Advice!

Replies
Views
Ajahn

I have been practicing irrigation for 4 years now. I had my operation in March 2015. Everything has been going well up until this week where I tried to irrigate and the water flat refused to go in. The first 2 occasions I took a 20-minute or so break and it seemed to be successful after that. I had thought constipation as the output was quite thick, thicker than is my normal. I usually irrigate every 2nd day. I did my normal irrigate yesterday and had to wait awhile and start all over again. Today I went on a fast and decided to irrigate again this evening, which is my usual time: total failure. I tried a few times, even changed the water tip, gave up after about an hour. Hopefully, I can talk to the stoma nurses at Holy Spirit tomorrow. Has anyone out there had similar experiences or any advice? I did have a CT scan of my abdomen and pelvis about 6 weeks ago and all was well. Peace of mind if someone out there has an answer, thank you all in advance and sorry to be long-winded!

Bill

Hello Ajahn.
Thank you for your post containing questions about irrigation (or problems with it).
There are various reasons why the water might not go into the stoma as it should and you are right that a blockage such as constipation may well be one of those reasons.