Leaking Issues Due to Peristomal Hernia

Replies
Views
magpie

This is my first time posting but have often read forums in the past. I am not new to ostomy but new to leaking problems. I had ileostomy surgery in '81 due to UC. I never had any problems until a peristomal hernia occurred, causing leaking and shorter wear time. I use Hollister premium flat one-piece pouch. I stopped using barrier rings, thinking this was part of the reason the pouch was leaking. It seems to occur mostly at night when the stoma tends to retract. It even tends to happen when wearing a hernia belt too. It's hard to pinpoint the problem, so I wanted to know if anyone had any suggestions. Signed, "new kid on the block" Magpie.

jeaniefrances

Mine leaks mostly at night too, the extra bag I have to attach to at night may pull on it when I turn. My stoma is flush against my stomach, had a revision that made it even worse. Scar tissue holds it down. So I have to use cement around the stoma and on the flange. I use a flange that is slightly raised with rubber around it, and I also use a ring. Not going to take any chances. It still only lasts 3 days, no more. Nothing worse than a wet dream! Ha Jeanie in Georgia

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,315 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

lottagelady