Concerns about Stomal Prolapse - Need Advice

In this discussion
Replies
Views
Katman
Okay, so I am a newbie who is still trying to figure out what is normal. I figure my stoma is on the larger end of things anyway as it looks longer than any pictures I have seen anywhere... after surgery, it was 1-1.5 inches long at rest, and when it decided to work, would stretch to nearly 3 inches in length. Kinda cute since it has a nice hook to it... like I'm trying to poop around corners.

Anyway, the stoma has been feeling kinda sore and achy the last few days. When I changed my bag and plate this morning, the stoma was hanging limp about 6 inches down into the bag. Once in the shower, it pulled back to about 3 inches, but again hangs somewhere around 4-5 inches most times.

Should I be concerned? Not counting the extreme volume of stuff coming through (I have a very active stoma), everything has been fairly easy up to now. Can I just chalk this up to personality?

Thanks,
Katman
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,098 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

sherrybear

Maybe you should call a stoma nurse, and ask her. I'm having a problem with mine. It has gone down to match my skin on the right side only, so I'm going to call a stoma nurse to see if that is normal. I do hope everything will be okay.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Pinky

Sounds like a prolapse, but not a bad one. I had a previous loop colostomy that prolapsed about a foot - when I complained to my surgeon, he said "Oh big deal - some people's dangle down to their toes" - how sympathetic.