Supporting the Ostomy Bag and Preventing Blockages

In this discussion
Replies
Views
toodie

I am new to the land of ostomy and I feel the ostomy nurses don't share as much as I can read on here. So I have a few questions...

Do I need to support the bag? i.e. Do I need to wear a belt or is it okay to let the bag hang freely? My stoma is situated such that I can wear my regular undergarments, however, I notice that there are garments which hold the bag. Is this necessary?

Does the stoma have to be protected? I was only told that excessive rubbing would not be good.

I was given a pamphlet on foods which produce gas, foods to avoid, etc. But the nurses said to try anything. I am a bit scared to get a blockage and a bit scared that I will not get a balanced diet. So far I am doing okay but I have asked for a referral to a dietician. How do you try anything but save yourself from a blockage?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,104 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member

It is okay to let the bag hang, and you need a bag if it makes you feel comfortable. The special garments for the bag are also more to make you feel comfortable and/or confident.

The stoma should be protected from bumps and bangs.

When it comes to food, introduce slowly and then observe for any changes. In essence, have a little and when you have output, you can "review" it. I know kind of gross, but hopefully you get the gist.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
bes0642