Irrigation challenges with hernias

Replies
Views
Primadonna

I irrigate every day and was always successful with it. I now have three large hernias and find it impossible to clean out my colon all the way, being blocked somewhat with the hernias. Usually, after an hour or two, the remaining works its way out. I tried less and more water but still the same results. Anyone else have this problem with hernias and irrigating?

mild_mannered_super_hero

Yes, I know exactly what you mean. I irrigate and have a medium-sized hernia. You can still irrigate successfully. I find that a 4-5 hour fast before irrigation, as well as a light meal afterwards, really helps. You may have to lightly hold everything in place while getting the water in and on your return...trial and error will be the best teacher. I stand while doing it, again I think this helps keep everything in place. Keep in mind that I am not a doctor or nurse....so this is just my experience and not a professional opinion. If you still have problems, PM me and I'll try to be more specific. Good luck and keep us posted as to progress......

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,377 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Bill
Hello

Primadonna,