Dealing with Liquid Output after Eating Meat - Need Tips!

Replies
Views
buffy

Hi, this is my first time on here. Just wondering if anyone has trouble when they eat any meat. When I have a meal with meat, my output is so liquid I have to empty my bag so often (7 times in the space of 3 hours). I take Imodium to try and slow it down, but this takes ages to work. Does anyone have any tips, please? I have an ileostomy for 5 years.

Past Member

I don't have that issue with meat, but I do with eggs. I would eat things that slow down output when you eat meat, like pasta or rice. Eat a bit of them first and see if that helps.

Paul

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,358 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member
Hi,
Hey, this is my first time on a forum as well. It's not everywhere you go that your opening gambit to someone can be about your intestinal output, is it!?
I've had my ileostomy for just over a year now and have kind of resigned myself to the fact that it seems to have a mind of its own whatever I eat! Emptying 7 times in an hour does sound like a hell of a lot though; you must get pretty dehydrated. I also take Imodium as and when, but find that sometimes it works well, other times not so well....Sod's law, one day it'll work too well and I'll be set rock solid from end to end! I've read on other forums about people taking a supplement to "thicken it all up". Personally, I don't fancy eating however many bags of marshmallows and unripe bananas, so if there's something simpler on prescription that could be useful.