Help with Fistulas and Healing, Please

In this discussion
Replies
Views
Tigerlily
Hello there

I have been coming to this site for several months and found you all very helpful, although I have only posted replies a couple of times. I have some questions about fistulas and how they heal and how people cope with them. I apologize in advance for the long post, but any help would be appreciated.

I had an emergency ileostomy in March due to an abdominal lymphoma causing a blocked bowel. I had several post-op complications, including having to have the bottom 8 of 58 staples of my wound removed early due to supposed infection. What actually happened was that the wound burst open on removal of the 3rd one, and loads of stuff just like the stoma output poured out. I had not been warned that this was a possibility and freaked out. After some investigation, it seems there is a leak somewhere under the stoma, and it has tracked along to the wound. It has also been referred to as a fistula, but I don't think it is one in the true sense of the word. I have had pediatric stoma bags on it to collect output.

Between chemo sessions, I repeatedly developed cellulitis around my stoma and on one occasion, the above-mentioned wound hole, which had just recently closed, burst open again with lots of yuckiness coming out - despite an ultrasound 6 hours earlier saying there was no fluid collection.

During a further bout of cellulitis, a hole on my abdomen about 1 cm wide burst open about a centimeter to the right of my stoma, again with stoma output coming out. This has also been referred to as a fistula, coming again from the supposed small leak under my stoma. To manage this, the hole cut out of my bags was cut with a bit sticking out of the side (the hole in the bag looks a bit like it has a beak-like shape sticking out of the side). This seems to work, but of course, the skin between the stoma and hole that is always exposed to output is sore, especially when the output is watery.