Colon Cancer with a Colostomy

In this discussion
Replies
Views
hometown
Hi all, I am a newbie, but i have been reading all the posts that i can, as i need to hear about otheres problems so mine may not seem so bad. I had emergency surgery in 2009 for a blockage in the intestines, which turned out to be a cancerous tumor. I woke up 7 days later with severe peritionitis and a colostomy. I was living in Florida at the time, but after 8 weeks in rehab my son wanted me to return to NJ to live with him and hope to get better medical care up here. Well I have done all they asked of me and went through a terrible time of 6 months of Chemo and lots of problems with the colostomy. Well two years later I finally have some control over the sores and burning due to sores around the stoma, and now I just had a Pet Scan CT scan and I have a new tumor in the mesentery , and a spot on the liver. I will be going to the oncologist this week, but I am very worried. I was wondering if anyone out there has had this type of cancer come back? Thanks to anyone who will respond to this ;Joyce hometown
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,097 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

mild_mannered_super_hero
hi joyce and welcome to the forum. i am a colo/rectal cancer survivor for 12 years. i have no experience with return, but am posting this to show my support for you. my thoughts and prayers for a good report , keep the faith...... cancer can be beaten, there are many on this site that have done so...you can and will too. mmsh
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Bill
Hello Hometown,