Ostomy Bag Filters: Clogging After Bowel Movements - Normal or Am I Missing Something?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses the issue of ostomy bag filters clogging after bowel movements and seeks advice on whether this is normal or if there are solutions to prevent it.
DRF56

I am a newbie to posting. I have been reading with interest. Quick personal history: Diagnosed with stage 3 rectal cancer last summer. Chemo/radiation, then full rectal resection surgery. I have a permanent colostomy and undergoing the post-surgery hell - FOLFOX 6 regimen.
Have been trying different ostomy products and I have noticed one thing with all the ones with filters: the filters work great until you have a bowel movement, then they clog up. Is this just the nature of the beast, or am I missing something?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,093 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member

Hi, I'm afraid most of the pouches with filters tend to block up when bowel movement happens. I have yet to find one that continues to work well with a filter. I'm still on the lookout for something that's reliable in that context. If I come across something, I will post it here... Good luck in your findings... Ambies...

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Xerxes

I find that the filters just never seem to work regardless of how you use them.

X_

Past Member
http://www.kemonline.com/content/administration/howtoattach