Fasting for Weight Loss with an Ileostomy - Need Advice!

Replies
Views
BONBAZ
Hi everyone, I'm new to this site, so hello to all the friends I don't know yet.
I'd like to ask your opinions on fasting.
After my ileostomy for colitis 2 years ago, I gained around 4 stone (56 pounds).
I couldn't lose any weight by cutting portion sizes down, so I decided to fast every other day.
I've been doing this for 6 months now and I've lost 40 pounds.
The trouble is, every time I start eating every day, I put weight on quite quickly.
I don't eat many carbs as they make me have a very thick output, then my bag leaks.
Has anyone else tried this diet and how did you stop?
tess45

Have you talked to your doctor or someone in the medical profession to discuss other options to fasting? There are so many ways to lose weight.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,429 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Primeboy

With an ileo, you should be experiencing a lot of very watery stool. Are you taking anything (like Imodium) to stop the dehydration? I do not know why your output is thick, but you may want to take a second look at the meds you are taking. If your meds promote thick output, you may gain weight. I stopped with the Imodium, and my weight returned to normal. I guess the longer you hold the food inside of you, the more carbs you will absorb, and the fatter you may become. Talk with your doctor or nutritionist. Also, experiment a little. Fasting, however, is not an option outside of Lent. Welcome to this site. PB

BONBAZ