Fistula Care: Bathing and Bag Tips

Replies
Views
petite

Hi, I'm quite new to this... I have a fistula which is a lot easier to manage now... I bathe every day and change the bag... Do I have to change it...? How waterproof are the bags? Any advice on this subject I would be grateful.

callie

They are waterproof. Swim, shower, and enjoy life.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,455 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

petite

Thanks Callie, I will have a bath and see how it goes... LOL x

moonshine

I change mine every 4 days... And I shower, swim, etc... I also started putting 'bling' on the top-rounded part of my bag. That is the part that sticks out of my jeans... It is my version of a girlie bag... Good luck... Also, I use a hairdryer to dry the underside of the bag after a shower.

TB Cat

I've tried several pouching systems and find that some are more "shower friendly" than others. The best one so far has been the Cymed Micro Skin system in either one or two-piece design. It might be worth a try. Check out their website where they have all the info and offer free samples.

Words of Encouragement from Ostomy Advocates I Hollister
Snookis Mum

I shower every day and wash out the (previously emptied) bag in the shower, so it feels clean and fresh every morning. My bags last a week with no problems. I use Coloplast one-piece with Nu-Hope barrier rings. Works great.
Sandi

GeneralPattyn