Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates 20,328 members

Need tips on getting the wafer to stick

Posted by Jamie251, on Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:30 am
I am new to this. Ileostomy created March 14th after bowel resection for crohn's. needless to say, the phrase "shit happens" has taken on a whole new meaning with me these days!  i am having trouble getting a good seal on my wafer and am only getting one to two days before it starts leaking. Anyone have any tips on getting the wafer to last a bit longer?
Also, my skin is very irritated under the wafer...what have you all found best for skin protection?
Reply by shan1989, on Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:26 pm
Hi

I had to have a second op to move my ileostomy to other side of abdomen as had loads of complications. I still only get 2-3 days before having to change it but to me thisis better than my 10 timesa day! So unfortunately i have no tips on that one but as for your skin, the best thing i have found is sunlight/sunbeds. not often but every 2 weeks i have a 6 minute sunbed which clears my skin straight up! this may help your wafer to stick for longer if your skin is in good condition Smile
Reply by Xerxes, on Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:46 pm
What kind of a system do you use? for many years I used a two piece system by Hollister. A couple of years ago I switched to a two piece system by Convatec. What a difference. I went from one or two days then up to 5-6 days now. The difference is unbelievable. Before applying the wafer try heating it with a hair dryer on high for several seconds. It will help with the adhesion of the wafer.

X_
Reply by shan1989, on Thu Apr 04, 2013 3:54 am
I have to use a one piece now as my skin reacted with all the two pieces that were available :0( I know get bad psoriasis which is the cause of not much sticking, the sunbed/sun really helps x
Reply by Jamie251, on Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:32 pm