Stoma nurse couldn't insert finger, surgeon unreachable. What should I do?

Replies
Views
Past Member

This is my first time writing a post. I've just been for a check-up with the stoma nurse, and she tried to put a finger in the stoma but couldn't. She then went and got another nurse, and she couldn't either. So she tried to get my surgeon on the phone but couldn't reach him. She said she would get him and phone me either tonight or tomorrow. I was wondering if this has happened to anyone and what they are going to do.

Ewesful

That is no way to test a stoma --

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,369 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

ron in mich

Hi Midge, when I first had my surgery for my ileo, I was told to get those finger condoms and use my pinky, but not to force it. Just slightly insert it in my stoma, and I did that the first year every time I changed my appliance. Take care, Ron in Mich.

Primeboy

At the risk of seeming clueless, I have no idea why anyone would want to stick a finger in their stoma. If your stoma already works, why mess with success? I must surely be missing something and I would appreciate knowing the rationale for this invasive probe.
PB

charlie

I am with you, PB. Why? Very curious too.

How to Manage Ostomy Leaks with LeeAnne Hayden | Hollister
vikinga