Need help with allergic reaction to flange tape - how to heal sores?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
MarSka

Does anybody have suggestions for me? I have been using Hollister 14904 flange for 5 years. A couple of weeks ago, I developed a rash that is burning and painful. I thought it was yeast and took Diflucan for 8 days. No response. Now I have blisters and oozing sores that are not healing. It is not in the shape of the flange, but the ostomy nurse says I developed an allergic reaction to the tape. How can I get these sores to heal?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,101 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

ron in mich

Hi Marska, if you're using the type of wafer with the tape surround, try trimming it off and use a different tape or a belt for extra support. Good luck, Ron in Mich.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
WOUNDED DOE