Ileostomy reversal - Seeking advice on removing the bag after multiple bowel resections

In this discussion
Replies
Views
fordlady

I am new to this, so I will tell my story and then see what comments are made. Ok, well back in 2011 I was diagnosed with cervical cancer so I started chemo and radiation. I had 35 radiation and 4 weeks of chemo and also 4 internal radiation. Went back to work felt fine even through 2012. Well Jan. 3, 2013, my stomach started hurting severely went to the doctor they thought it was gall bladder so they took it out. Well, I still was hurting so I ended up going to another hospital, I was there 9 weeks. They said from radiation that between my small intestine and colon it had collapsed. So I ended up having 3 different bowel resections. When I woke up I had this ileostomy bag. They said they had taken around 2 feet total out. I have had the bag since April 2013. I am really ready to get this thing off I do not like it at all. If there is anything anyone can tell me about any of this I would greatly appreciate it!!

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,104 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Primeboy

You should have a good sphincter and some assurance from your surgeon that you won't be in need of frequent toilet trips. Good luck!
PB

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Highlander15