Excessive Output and Struggles with Hydration

Replies
Views
pammer

Hi. Today is day 19 since my surgery. I woke up at 4:00 am soiled again. I was so tired I couldn't see straight. But I had to get everything off and get in the shower only to have crap flying everywhere. Sorry, don't mean to gross anyone out. I had everything ready to put on when I got out of the shower but still managed to make a mess everywhere. My output is very watery and I have had to empty my bag 3 times in the last 2 1/2 hours and will again when I finish writing this. It just keeps filling up. I am drinking water so I don't get dehydrated but I can't get it in to me fast enough to make up for what I am losing.

mild_mannered_super_hero

I have a colostomy, so I'm no expert. However, I know that there are certain things you eat to help slow output: marshmallows, rice, potatoes are a few that come to mind. You might try eating whichever works best for you a few hours before you go to bed. Do you get up to empty at night? If not, you might want to set an alarm and get up every few hours to empty. Hopefully, an ileo member will help out with a few suggestions.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,378 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Anoniem18

I wouldn't worry about grossing people out.