Need help with ostomy leaks during sleep

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses tips and advice for managing ostomy leaks during sleep.
Rostomy

Hi there.

I am new to this. Have a question about flange to skin. I have been leaking at night like crazy. It pulls off in the middle of the night no matter what I do, paste or no paste. Any tips? I'm concerned my stoma doesn't come out far enough to clear the hole when I sleep. Anyone else suffer from this?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,090 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Penguins7

Hi Rostomy, sounds like you should try a convex flange which will aid in your short stoma. I don't have that problem but have heard others talk about a convex flange for that use. Give it a try and good luck. Penguins7

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Immarsh

Hi, I agree with Penguins, try a convex flange, and also try using stoma adhesive powder, then paste around the opening of the wafer.

It's also important as to how you clean your skin. I never use soap....ever. I gave it up 50 years ago (under the wafer that is). I don't take off the wafer in the shower because even shampoo can leave a residue.

I use hot water to clean the skin around the stoma, and then cold water (to close the pores). I then use a prep wipe....(which really prepares the skin) and removes any lingering body oil/moisture.

I put the powder around the stoma and before I switched to the moldable flange, I used to put a ring of stoma adhesive paste around the opening of the flange.