Irrigation: Increasing water amount and reusing drains?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
carol5

So, I finally did it! I gave irrigation a try. Everything went fine except I don't think I am completely cleaned out. I started with 500cc of water, so should I increase that on day two? Also, do most people reuse the drains? They seem pretty sturdy, but I don't want to trust them if they are not made to be reused. Manufacturing says nothing about it. I am excited for this change. I am a high school teacher, and the stress in the classroom with "things happening" and not being able to leave the students is so stressful and has been making me not go to work (I typically love being a teacher). I am really hoping this does the trick.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,102 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Bill

Hello Carol.

Congratulations on giving the irrigation a try. I fee; sure you will not regret it in the long-term. (no pun intended).

Your question about reusing the drains is not a straightforward one to answer because some of them are designed to be for one-off use and others are designed for multiple use. Personally I use the Dansac Irridrain which are single use but they suit me better because they are a decent size at the top and I like the longer length because of how i operate the procedure. However, I have also made a device that they can stick onto so that I can multi-use them. Not that I need to, as I get all my stuff for nothing on the NHS. It's just that very occasionally one will not stick properly to my skin and I have the 'gadget' ready for an emergency , should it arise.