Adapting to Life with a Stoma: Experiences and Tips?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
StaceyLee

Hi everyone, I've joined this community to try and mentally prepare myself for surgery and life with an ostomy bag. I have been battling Crohn's for 14 years with no relief from meds, the next step is surgery that I'm ready to undergo as I have no quality of life. Having an ostomy bag would be the lesser of two evils. I'm interested in how everyone adapted to having a stoma and the experiences everyone's had, good and bad. Thanks for reading x

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,099 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

iMacG5

Hi StaceyLee.  I think we all adapted in some way to our stomas.  We're different in some respects and for some it's easier than for others.  We all make it though and many of us are alive only because we had the surgery.  You'll be just fine because you're preparing and asking.  There might be a few little bumps in the road you'll be travelling but they'll be small and we'll help you get over them very smoothly.  

Respectfully,

Mike

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Bill

Hello StaceyLee.