Wearing a Belt with an Ileostomy: Need Advice!

In this discussion
Replies
Views
HungryHamster

Hello,

I'm new to having an ileostomy (surgery on 17/3/17) and I'm a bit concerned about how I would go about wearing clothes with a belt. I don't see how I can wear a belt without constricting the bag and either causing issues or causing me to have to be in and out of the loo all of the time to prevent it from over-filling above the waistline. I've already had an issue with a pair of shorts that fitted me perfectly fine before I had an ostomy, but once the bag filled a little bit, they were too restrictive and nothing fell below the waistline of the shorts. Luckily this was at home so I was able to just let the bag hang outside of my shorts, but in the case of wearing anything involving tucking in a shirt, I don't see how it would be possible. Every time I've worn jeans since my surgery I have just worn an untucked shirt so I don't have to wear a belt. I've read some things about support bands/belts, but after a very brief Google search I have found them to be quite expensive, especially for an 18-year-old uni student.

How do you recommend going about wearing something like a suit or anything involving a tucked-in shirt with a belt without causing any issues with the bag? If a support belt is the best option, what's the best one for price? I live in Australia so it would need to either be an Australian company or one that posts here.

Thanks very much for your suggestions,

Hamish.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,101 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

NJ Bain

Hamish,