ConvaTec - Less Pressure More Protection
ConvaTec - OstoMySecrets
Meet and talk to 19,455 OstoMates.
Meet and talk to 19,455 OstoMates.
Not your typical ostomy website. See why

Hello Everyone!

Go to page: 1, 2  Next
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:25 am

I'm kinda bummed that we have to pay to enjoy a full membership to this website. Like, haven't we been through enough??

Anyhoo, I'm new to this ostomy thing and am finally starting to feel at peace with it. I'd like to talk to others and connect with some new friends! 

I'm 42, mother of 2 grown children, pharmacist is my day job. I live in Minnesota but grew up in western Washington. I just graduated pharmacy school in May of 2016, and was diagnosed with colon cancer in May of 2017. How's that for timing!?! Luckily my employer provides great benefits and support. I have a temporary ileostomy that is a bit of a brat and has been difficult to handle.

Hope to chat with you soon! 

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:43 am

I can relate!  I didn't have cancer but my lower bowl suddenly, without warning died within 24 hours so I now have "Maxine" on my side.  She is often very angry so we disagree about things alot but lately,  things have calmed down and we are getting along famously.  I hope yours gets better soon.  Will you be getting reconnected or have a J pouch??

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:02 am

Hello  julianatheory151.

Welcome to the site and, if it helps, I have never paid for membership but think that it is worthwhile for the general correspondence that goes on. Also, I regularly get free membership because I post a lot, However, I have never used the advantages of the freebies because I PREFER TO POST IN THE OPEN FORUM  rather than the private messaging and chat. 

Best wishes

Bill

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:16 am

julianatheory151,

Welcome to the site!  It took me years to finally break down and pay for a full membership but I figured I'd probably blow $50 on something frivolous anyway so I said what the hell.