Complications from ileostomy: Stricture and adhesions require redo surgery

Replies
Views
freedancer

Well, I've been in the hospital now since late Wednesday night. I had another blockage and this time the CAT scan showed another problem and enlarged intestines. I have had bad bouts of pain since getting the first emergency surgery. I was basically unable to eat anything without difficulty. I have been telling the doctor for the last 5 months that something was not working right. My output was very loose all the time and nothing like it was described. By 7 months, I should have had a pretty decent diet set up but the only thing that I could eat was Ramen, soup, and other light foods. I read where most folks could eat most anything a few months out and I had issues with almost everything. Well, I was admitted early Thursday morning and had surgery at 0730 on Friday for a redo of the ileostomy. The doctor got in there and immediately saw a stricture that he said he was flabbergasted at how tight it was. He stated he couldn't believe that anything could have gotten through it. There were also very large adhesions that were present. He had to cut out the stricture and rebuild the ileostomy and enlarge the area and cut away the adhesions so things would move better. He said the bowels were very swollen and thick. He seems to feel things will be better now and that I will be able to eat better and things will move through better. I am now back at square one again so I hope this is the end of this roller coaster ride. I hope I don't lose the rest of my hair due to this surgery. I lost three quarters of my hair with the last surgery. Time will tell. I am walking now without assistance and am eating a soft diet now. I think I can go home Tuesday or Wednesday.

Angelicamarie

Freedancer,