Seeking advice: Law enforcement with an ostomy?

Replies
Views
VulcanRider

I'm new to all of this and I'm trying to find another police officer with an ostomy. I had diverticulitis with a perforation in my colon and had to have emergency surgery. Woke up in a daze and have a bag on my belly! Now I'm on sick leave waiting to be cleared to go back to work with. I'm curious to see if I can still be a police officer with a bag. Luckily mine can be reversed, but will be 4 to 6 months. Don't know if I can afford to be out that long or if I'll end up on disability until after the reversal. Anyone have/had experience like this or know someone? Thanks!

Past Member

Hey, you lucky stiff. You get to get your brown eye back. The only things I can think of is getting a hernia from the equipment weight. Vests need to be tight. Just how much hot pocket you can eat under the gear. Moving around a lot means more changes, running on light eating, and timing of changes. Hope you do well with your job and staying vertical. I'm a volunteer now so I can set my own time. I'm retired, it would be distracting to me trying to keep my scalp. I stay dry mostly all day once I get moving I'm good. Just don't feed me. Xcontractor, I think it is possible to do. I've been viewed by some mates on the site. Looked like cop handles. Live long and prosper, young man. Jerz.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,358 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

VulcanRider