Tucking or Hanging: Best Way to Wear Ostomy Bag?

Replies
Views
Desertmum

I've only had my ostomy for around two months. I am an elementary teacher of 30 4th graders, so I am pretty active throughout the day.

I wear mostly leggings with tunic-length shirts and have been letting my bag hang outside my pants, yet under my shirt. Some of my pre-surgery shirts are not long enough to hide the bag, so I can't wear them. I feel like my leggings are a bit too tight to tuck the bag into and am afraid they won't let the poop flow down into the bag right. I can't afford a whole new wardrobe and am supposed to be reversed this year anyway.

My ostomy in relation to my pants line is such that the waistband is right at the middle of the bag. I wonder if I should be tucking it in. BTW, I use the skinny stretchy Hollister belt just for security so I don't feel the bag will come off if it starts to get full.

Any thoughts? How do you all prefer to "wear" your bags?

maddie50322