ConvaTec - Moldable Technology
ConvaTec - Less Pressure More Protection
Meet and talk to 19,351 OstoMates.
Meet and talk to 19,351 OstoMates.
Not your typical ostomy website. See why

Ileostomy with discharge in rectum.

Go to page: 1, 2  Next
Posted: Sat May 05, 2018 6:00 pm

I am new to OstoMate and just a bit shy about asking questions. But from what I have read, I know I shouldn't be concerned about asking any question, so here it is:

Soon after my ileostomy surgery in 2013, I was informed that about every six months a discharge of "mucus" would occur. This happened.  About a year later this discharge became more  frequent, where I experienced the discharge once per month. Then the discharge happened once per week until it began happening almost every day. Frequently there is blood in the discharge. Before the discharge, the feeling sends me to the bathroom, sometimes in a hurry. And I thought those days were over!

The doctor said I have colitis and prescribed an enema, Mesalamine Rectal Suspension. Sometimes this helps, other times it does not help.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Seasaw...was supposed to be Seesaw but for some reason I wasn't allowed to correct the mistake...

Posted: Sat May 05, 2018 11:55 pm

Hi there, I too suffer from the discharge of mucus. My professor informed me it can be a very normal thing for some patients. I get it daily and like you it takes me to the bathroom. I do not get the enemas due to the removal of rectum and the remaining room left. If there is blood I would touch base with your stoma nurse. I think they are as good as the doctors. 😊

Posted: Sun May 06, 2018 12:46 am

Thank you for your response!