Yoga and Ostomy: Can I Lie on My Stoma Safely?

Replies
Views
Buzwoman

Hi, I'm new to all this. Had my surgery end of Feb and am feeling pretty good. Want to get back to yoga but unclear about lying on my stoma. I have not laid on my belly since surgery. Is it safe?

Thanks!

Pirrip

I would only lie on my tummy if my bag was completely empty, but I wouldn't dare sleep like that. Just imagine if the bag filled up with some liquid output and you rolled on it and the seam of the bag splits? I have had a couple go! It's a learning curve. Mattresses are expensive! Good luck, chum x

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,456 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Bill

Hello Buzwoman. As Pirrip says. having an empty bag is a sensible pecaution to prevent leaks. However, there should be no reason why you could not lie on you stoma. many of us wear hernia belts and I have not heard of any damage being done in the process. the pressure of a belt must be equal or more than the pressure that would be exerted when layin on the area. It's all about comon-sense and experimentation. Give it A TRY AND IF IT DOESN'T WORK, THEN STOP! Having a stoma should not prevent us from doing anything we want (apart from pooing from our bums!)

Best wishes

Bill

Past Member

You can lie on your belly if you irrigate. I'd recommend it if you have the type of ostomy that permits it. (Descending or Sigmoid). It can be a hassle for an hour in the morning, but after that, you're good to go for a day and night at least. Good luck.

Past Member