Questions about ileostomy experiences and concerns - seeking advice and support

Replies
Views
canaussie
Hi all, I am fairly new to this and have learned a lot reading through the forums. I am so glad everyone is so open with their questions and answers - it makes me feel a little less stupid.
Anyway, I have a few questions....but first a quick summary:
I have an ileostomy as a result of having my bowel "nicked" during surgery (hysterectomy) in Sept 2009. I wasn't at all prepared for this and am still coming to terms with it.

Question 1.
During the first few weeks, I had a few very small, mucusy (sp?) bowel movements (i.e. via rectum). The nurses all said this was not unusual and that it would stop. Well, it did stop for a few months, but it happened again (along with a very tiny amount of gas). Is this normal? I had a lot of discomfort in the hours leading up to this phenomenon, but it subsided after the fact.

Question 2.
Does anyone sleep through the night? I am up at least twice every night to empty my bag. Only once have I had the bag explode on me in bed (what a night that was - lol), so I find myself waking up a lot just to check and/or empty my bag. Needless to say, I am tired.

Question 3.
Has anyone had a successful reversal? I saw my surgeon last week and have finally got a date with him in the OR for a "take down" on Feb 22nd. He told me that my CT scan showed I had developed adhesions, but he is fairly confident he will be able to deal with them and perform the reversal. I have heard many horror stories relating to reversals (loss of control, running to the bathroom 20 times a day or more, etc.). Has anyone got any good stories to share?

Question 4.
Does anyone have a list of safe foods? I have found that a lot of food either gives me a lot of gas or simply 'burns' as it passes into the bag. I avoid the standard "danger foods" (corn, greens, nuts, etc.), but I also found that sour cream and my ostomy do not see eye to eye.