Bowel pressure and urgency with colostomy - seeking advice

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses coping strategies and advice for managing bowel pressure and urgency with a colostomy.
Hayley80

Hi, I'm a colostomy newbie. I had the loop operation at the end of September due to a tumor in my rectum. I'm getting stressed and upset with the pressure and urgency to go that I still feel in my bowels. It's constant and seems worse when my stoma is active. I'm terrified to let go in case of any damage inside it may cause me, so I'm trying to hold it in. Can anyone else relate to this? I see lots of posts regarding mucus, but everyone seems to take it in their stride. Maybe I'm just being a baby? It's freaking me out. Thanks.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,086 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Pirrip

Tincture of time...

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Bill

Hello Hayley80. I do like pirrip's response to your post as it gives the shortened version of what is needed regarding these issues. However, lest his reply seems inadequate to you, I will attempt to add a little more.