Need better ostomy appliance suggestions for a concave stoma

Replies
Views
Honeymama

I am new at this, I think the term is newbie. Anyway, the hospital used a Hollister appliance on me after surgery, sent me home with the same. And that is what I have ordered from the medical supply.

But, I am having to change EVERY DAY. The wafer is melting and causing all kinds of rash problems. My nurse/friend said I am doing everything right. So I wonder if there might be a better product out there.

I have 10 pouches left and it takes the medical supply at least 4 days to deliver, so time is of the essence. My nurse also told me that my stoma is concave. So that I needed to add a belt. This did not make a big difference. WOULD love some new product suggestions. Thanks, hon.

xnine

I like Hollister but use Brava rings from Coloplast.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,378 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Raine061

Have you tried a convex appliance? Call the Hollister customer service and talk with a rep to see what samples they can send. You could also try other manufacturers as they will all be willing to send you samples.

I finally found a solution with a 2-piece Hollister, with a Brava ring, and using a good skin prep.

Wish you luck figuring all this out. In the beginning, it can be quite frustrating. I'm 6 months into this and still learning.

Shitt Happens

Good evening Honeymama,