Concerns about Stoma and Liquid Output - Need Advice!

Replies
Views
Gemd

Photo attached. Since last night, I've had liquid output. I can hear gurgling. No pain, no fever. I changed my bag because it leaked from the diarrhea, and my stoma has a little purple around the middle of the column part. Is that normal? It also seems that the skin on my belly around it is a little raised, but I'm not sure if it has always been slightly raised and I never noticed. As my stoma is 2.5 months old, so I'm still new to all this. /></p>
						</div>
					</div>
                    <div class=

Past Member

It could be constipation. Ask for an appointment with your stomach care.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,455 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Gemd

I now have a little output that is less liquidy. I had a lot of fiber yesterday, so maybe it causes an issue.

NJ Bain

Gem,

It looks like maybe the hole for your stoma on your pouch or wafer may not have been large enough for your stoma to expand. This can cause the stoma to swell to larger than normal and cause the skin around it to raise slightly. The hole should be cut to the widest size as your stoma. It's okay if a little bit of skin is exposed as long as you use a skin prep.

I wouldn't worry about the purple part as long as the rest of your stoma is a nice bright red like it is now. If it turns pale or light pinkish, you're not getting enough blood supply to it.

Do you use a 1 or 2-piece system? And where did it leak?

Bain

Little Red