Tips for Flange Skin & Stoma Care

In this discussion
Replies
Views
Dancingthrough

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie. Had my surgery on October 23/18 - irreversible colostomy. I'm coping quite well and grasping this new world. I'd like to air the skin that gets covered up by the flange. What can I do with my stoma for an hour or so to stop the poop from dropping all over the place. Is there some kind of stopper I can get? Look forward to suggestions. Thanks

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,108 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Pirrip

Hi newbie! I'm no expert, had my stumpy thing about 18 months, eventually you will find when your tummy has its quiet times, usually evenings for me, but depends on when and what you eat .... then you can relax a bit between bag changes, after clean up, just keep a few tissues handy.... You never stop learning in this game and there is new stuff coming out to make things easier. Others may offer more learned advice.... Bill? lol

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Past Member

Hi Dancing,

Sorry to hear about things...but I'm in the same position, so I know what you're going through. It gets easier after you get used to things. Like Bill said, you'll learn when your system gets quiet and you can do the airing out thing. You'll probably hear this again, but if you have a colostomy, you may be able to do the irrigation thing. You'll probably find that to be super if you do it. It makes you feel almost normal...and you can air your skin out as many hours as you want to. Good luck to you newbie...you'll become a pro in no time.

Linda

Pabs72