Irrigation Issues After Colostomy Surgery

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses common problems and solutions related to colostomy irrigation after surgery.
tkargo

I have been irrigating for over 8 years. It has worked without any issues up until now. It has changed. I have been experiencing issues where the water just won't go in. One day it will work just fine and the next day, I can't get the water to go in. I had a colostomy a few days ago and everything checked out fine. I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,091 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Puppyluv56

Sometimes my cone will not go in as far as other days, but I think that may be due to solid poop being just inside the stoma! I have to take it out and start over. I always use my finger to be sure the colon opens right up, and even with this, I have to breathe deep and make it relax, then everything seems to work well!

Puppyluv

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
veejay

It is quite possible you have developed a parastomal hernia.

Does your stomach seem to bulge where your stoma is?

As you would know, for the evacuation to be completely successful all the water must go in.

I have a parastomal hernia and it definitely interferes with the water flow.

To get past this I extended the cone with a hollow plastic tube rounded at one end.

Always irrigate at the same time every day. Do not miss a day.

It can be frustrating... good luck!

V.J.

Bill