Best time to stop eating for colostomy care?

Replies
Views
BeachRN

I'm new at colostomy care. Is there a best time to stop eating in the evening or late afternoon? I have no output during the day. When I wake up in the morning, I need to empty my "pouch".

I worry about constipation because I've dealt with this issue all of my life. I now use Benefiber and a Colace. I am 4 weeks out of surgery. I feel wonderful, lost 20 pounds.

mild_mannered_super_hero

I would suggest that you eat smaller meals and eat more often now that you have an ostomy. I have a colostomy from cancer and in my case, I avoid fiber. I eat a high protein, low fiber, low residue diet. How is your output? Is it firm? Did your doctor or nurse mention irrigation? If not, ask if you would qualify for it. It's the easiest way to manage a colostomy. Welcome to the forum. :)

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,374 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member