Returning to Cycling with a Stoma: Share Your Stories

Replies
Views
ChrisP

In my younger days, I used to be a keen cyclist - I was even a Cycling Proficiency Examiner for primary schools - my parishes labeled it 'funeral prevention'!

Twenty years, weight gain, and a colostomy later, I'm thinking of getting a bicycle again. I'm realistic about how hard it is going to be physically at first to get fit (though I walk a LOT), but please would you share with me your experiences of getting back on a bike (a long time) after a stoma?

Thank you.

Bill

Hello Chris.
Thanks for posting your thoughts on getting a bicycle as this is something that I have some experience of.
Firstly, I don’t think that the stoma had anything to do with whether or not I took up cycling again, apart from the fact that my backside was sore and I had to ponder on which would be the most appropriate saddle.
My previous cycling days were split between cycling to work, which meant cycling to and from the train stations at either end on my fold-up; and cycling across country for pleasure on my mountain bike.
Since I got (much) older, the mountain bikes have been used less and less and I have converted my fold-up to electric powered. The electric bike was a preparation for old age, but once I started using it – I have to admit that it is addictive and I now prefer cycling to using the car.
I will also admit that it has been an extra pleasurable experience, watching all those vehicle drivers queuing up at petrol stations for fuel that cannot be delivered because of a lack of lorry drivers.
An interesting and unexpected bonus, is that cycling to work (for my latest job) now takes me less time on the bike than it did in the car and I don’t have to find (or pay for) a parking space.