Hollister Flange 14203: Splitting Issues?

Replies
Views
bob.hewson
Aug 09, 2011 5:14 am

Hollister New Image 14203 57 mm Flange.

I have been using this flange for a few months and have had no problems, but yesterday after playing with my 2 1/2-year-old son, I felt wet to discover that the flange had split between the plastic retaining ring and the adhesive part. Not a big split but enough to allow a lot of waste to escape through the hole.

I will be commenting to Hollister about this fault in at least one flange, but has anyone else had any problems with this product.

Bob

Past Member
Aug 10, 2011 4:27 am

I have a different Hollister flange, #14608, but I had the exact same leak with one of them! Of course, in perspective, all the others have been fine. I guess anyone can get a stinker past quality control. If the company makes good on it for you, then all's well?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,889 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

DH
Aug 10, 2011 4:14 pm

I got free samples of the New Image Hollister flange 14202. I didn't have a problem with leakage, but after wearing the flange for a couple of days, I couldn't get the darn thing off. The barrier was glued to my skin. When I finally did get it peeled off, my skin was sore and irritated. I think I am going to stick with my one-piece unit.

Past Member
Aug 10, 2011 6:27 pm

I use Hollister flange #14803 and it works well for me. It isn't perfect but I have tried some samples of others and found them less satisfying.