Seeking Advice on Dealing with Depression - Share Your Tips!

In this discussion
Replies
Views
Past Member

Since posting my blog titled 'The Cards We Are Dealt', I've had some inquiries about advice
on how to deal with depression, etc. I am by no means an expert, but here are some things
that helped me. And I'm asking others to post what helps them as well. Thank you.

I would say the first step is to go see a therapist. Talking to someone really helps. I am
fortunate to have a very good friend who is a counselor, and we talk weekly. Also, you
may or may not need medication. Do not be ashamed if you do need it for a while.
It can make all the difference in the world.

Make your surroundings light and airy and happy. Plants are wonderful. Crystals are
wonderful, bringing in positive energy. Find happy music. Get rid of that sad, sappy
stuff. LOL It is okay to go through your living space and touch each object and ask the
question 'Does this bring me joy?' If it doesn't, get rid of it. If it is something you
cannot part with, put it in a 'memory box', seal it up, and put it in the attic. Bring in
more items that bring you joy. For example, I have this beautiful pottery mug with
a cute little smiling bee on it. I love that bee. She is so happy. So I drew a few more
of her on my wall above my stove burners and above my kitchen sink. So now when
I cook or clean up, there are those happy bees. I smile.

Limit watching the news and other 'downer' TV. Watch happy, funny movies, shows.
I watch stand-up comedy all the time. If I am doing housework, I either put on happy
music or stand-up comedy. Do some internet searches to find what resonates with you.

Don't isolate yourself. Volunteering and giving back to your community is a wonderful
way to meet and talk with people. I love gardening, so I help with the community garden
every year. I also grow my own vegetable gardens and always have way too much, so I