Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Relationships

Alone. No one to ask questions. No support group. U Tube has been my only friend

Sun Jul 25, 2021 7:46 pm
How can I get old and new stains out of clothing and bed linens??< >
Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:39 pm
Hi Karen, Well.......you found us......so you're not alone anymore....and we're a decent support group....all things considered. I'm no expert in washing things, but I first try the normal stuff....Spray N Wash or Shout or OxiClean. The other more 'professional' method is mix baking soda with water to form a thick paste. Make sure the stain area is damp......wet it then ring it out as best you can. Then put the baking soda and water paste on the stained area and just let it dry completely. Once it's completely dry brush the powder off the stained area........and if all goes well the baking soda and water mix should have lifted the stain from the fabric and been brushed away. This all takes some time, which is why I try the spray cleaners first.......cuz I'm lazy. regards, bob
Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:53 pm
Hi Karen, glad you found this site. Bob gave you pretty good tips. Old stains will be hard to get out if at all. Try to get things washed before the stain sets and they should come out fairly well. Oxy clean is pretty good. You can also put some peroxide in with your detergent. It may take a few times to get them out. Use really warm water. Good luck Rebecca
Sun Jul 25, 2021 9:36 pm
me I suggest you check out UOAA, United Ostomy Association of America. Itís our National organization. There you will learn about foods, blockages skin care, clothing , products, travel, activities , and a whole host of other tricks of the trade. You might also want to check out a local support group near you . Just remember you are not alone on this new journey of yours. Best of luck.
Sun Jul 25, 2021 11:42 pm